Winners of the First Annual Student Writing Competition

The Animal Law Section of the State Bar of Texas announced the winners of its first annual student writing competition at the Animal Law Institute that took place on March 9, 2012, in Fort Worth, Texas. Students at Texas Law schools were asked to write a paper on any topic related to animal law. Winners were as follows:

Student Writing Competition Winners
Winners at the Animal Law Institute, with Professor Fran Ortiz

First place – Sarah L. Weinstein, South Texas College of Law, Animals and the Antiquities Act of 1906

Second place – Lisa Turner, Texas Wesleyan School of Law, Valuing Companion Animals in Tort: Why the Texas Supreme Court Should Revisit and Reform Its 1891 Holding in Heiligmann v. Rose to Allow Companion Animal Owners to Plead Sentimental Value Damages

Third place – Cathryn Copeland, SMU Dedman School of Law, More than the Sum of Their Parts: Why Animals Should Not Constitute Patentable Subject Matter

Honorable Mention – Melissa Ann Lesniak, St. Mary’s University School of Law, Comingling Canines and Other Unique Considerations of the Legal Rules of Professional Conduct in Cases Involving Animals

This entry was posted in Animal Law in Action, News. Bookmark the permalink.